University Film and Video Association (UFVA) is an international organization where media production and writing meet history, theory and criticism. UFVA members are makers and artists, teachers and students, archivists and distributors, college departments, libraries, and manufacturers. UFVA holds an annual conference and publishes the Journal of Film and Video, a periodical featuring articles on media production, history, theory, aesthetics and criticism. UFVA is one of the premier U.S. academic organizations dedicated to the study of media.

UFVA History

Membership Directory

Member Institutional Affiliations


Christina Lane
University of Miami

Past President

Laura Vazquez
Northern Illinois University

Executive Vice President

Joseph Brown
University of Denver

Conference Vice President

Wenhwa Ts’ao
Columbia College Chicago

Conference Vice President Elect

Marc May 
Towson University

Editorial Vice President

Bart Weiss
University of Texas – Arlington


Roslin Smith
State University of New York – Fredonia


Heather Addison
University of Nevada – Las Vegas

Board of Directors

Margaret Cardillo
University of Miami

Chrissy Guest
Ithaca College

Abbey Hoekzema
Georgia Southern University

Francisco Menendez
University of Nevada – Las Vegas

Suzanne Regan
California State University – Los Angeles

Mark von Schlemmer
University of Central Missouri

Journal of Film and Video

Michael Clarke
California State University, Los Angeles

Scholarships/Grants Office

Casey Hayward
Bentley University

UFVA Home Office

Andrea Meyer

Journal Subscriptions

University of Illinois Press
866-244-0626, 217-244-0626
(fax) 217-244-9910


Home Office: