News

Professor at Seattle University Develops Online Film Database

2020-09-25T19:36:00+00:00September 24th, 2020|

Justine Barda, Film Studies professor at Seattle University, recently developed a resource for finding international film online, telescopefilm.com. The site offers a database of 450,000 films, which you can search by title, country, language, genre, director, etc. The database tells you everything that's out there, if it's available to watch online, and where. Then you can click [...]

MUBI’s New Student Membership

2020-09-23T15:43:14+00:00September 22nd, 2020|

Know any film-loving students? We've got some great news: our friends at the curated streaming service MUBI have launched a brand new student membership. Available to all students, no matter what they're studying. You can enjoy hundreds of incredible hand-picked films from around the world for only $6.99 a month. Learn more at mubi.com/student   [...]

Hellbender Student Film Festival – Call for Entries

2020-09-17T15:02:59+00:00September 15th, 2020|

Hello UFVA! I'm writing in the hopes that you will encourage your students to submit to the inaugural Hellbender Student Film Festival which we launched back in the spring here at Lindenwood University (MO). The final, extended deadline is approaching this Friday, 18 September and we're hoping to see as much student work as possible. [...]

Las Cruces International Film Festival Call for Entries

2020-09-17T15:04:42+00:00September 14th, 2020|

Dear Students,    Congratulations on the success of your student films! I am one of the programming coordinators for the Las Cruces International Film Festival. Last year's festival had an attendance of over 30,000, including Academy Award winners Richard Dreyfuss and Graham Moore.  Past guests include Brendan Fraser, Danny Trejo, Cybill Shepherd, Pam Grier, Johnny Galecki, [...]

Shorts México International Short Film Festival Runs September 2-18

2020-09-03T13:50:41+00:00August 29th, 2020|

I take this opportunity to send you a cordial greeting from Shorts México International Short Film Festival of Mexico. We are celebrating the fifteenth edition as the only film festival dedicated exclusively to national and international short films.    Our fifteenth edition will take place from September 2 to 18, 2020 with a hybrid format [...]

Post-Pandemic Pedagogy Event August 26

2020-08-27T15:58:32+00:00August 24th, 2020|

Post-Pandemic Pedagogy - how can universities help create a more just and equitable world? 26 August, 2020 11:00am Sao Paulo/10:00am Boston USA/9:00am Chicago USA/4:00pm Johannesburg SA https://2020.kinoforum.org/filme/340974/pedagogia-pospandemica (Click on WATCH THE PROGRAM) Conversations between film and audiovisual schools in the global south, based on themes that encompass diversity, justice and the teaching of these schools [...]

2017 Keynote Speakers Gina Prince-Bythewood, Reggie Rock Bythewood Ink Deal With Touchstone

2020-08-16T13:32:50+00:00August 13th, 2020|

From Variety: Fresh off the considerable success of her Netflix action feature "The Old Guard," Gina Prince-Bythewood is eyeing up more projects in the TV space. The "Love & Basketball" director and her producing partner Reggie Rock Bythewood have inked a multi-year first-look TV deal with Touchstone Television, the recently rebranded Disney unit which used [...]

Diane Carson and Robert Johnson, Jr. Announce Two Docs on Fair Use

2020-08-07T14:53:31+00:00August 7th, 2020|

  Diane Carson and Robert Johnson, Jr. are pleased to announce that our two documentaries on fair use-- Other People?s Footage: Copyright & Fair Use (50 minutes) and Other People?s Footage: Fair Use in Scripted Films (61 minutes)-- are now available for purchase and streaming on the Films for the Humanities and Sciences website at [...]

Join Festival and Distrib Caucus for a Zoom chat with Noah Cowan, former head of the SF Film Society

2020-08-07T14:44:10+00:00August 7th, 2020|

Monday Aug 10 3PM PST /5 PM CST/ 6PM EST Please join the UFVA Festival and Distribution Caucus for a post-conference Zoom chat with Noah Cowan, former Executive Director of the San Francisco Film Society. Cowan was also Co-Director of the Toronto International Film Festival, Artistic Director of the TIFF Lightbox, Executve Director of the Global Film [...]