The George C. Stoney Award for Outstanding Documentary Work was proposed by the UFVF and approved by the UFVA which financially supports its administration. The award is juried by the Documentary Working Group (DWG), whose members both nominate and elect the recipient.

The George C. Stoney Award is given annually to an individual (or production team) who demonstrate(s) the values that Stoney promoted throughout his career: stories that represent the poor, the lesser known, the working class, and as a hallmark, engage social injustice themes. In addition to documentary work, the award may recognize writing as well as media advocacy work that is produced over time.

The Award may consist of a Master Class presented by the awardee at the upcoming UFVA Conference, or it may be the presentation of a statuette at the UFVA Awards Banquet. Preference will be given to those nominees who have also made substantial contributions to educating future generations of documentary filmmakers, and have had a connection to the UFVA.

Election rules

  • Any member of the DWG may nominate a candidate, but the nomination must also include a link to that person’s filmography and/or biographical information.
  • Once nominations are closed, a complete list of all the nominees will be published on the DWG’s page on the UFVA website, and will be posted directly via the DWG Listserv.
  • Only “active” UFVA members who are also members of the DWG may participate in the voting.
  • DWG members will cast their votes anonymously online.
  • Voting will be made using a “preferential system” where voters rank their top three candidates.
  • The formal voting process will conclude no later than May 1st.
  • The finalist will be notified by phone and/or by email.

Previous George C. Stoney Award Recipients

  • 2023 Jill Godmilow
  • 2022 Renee Tajima-Peña
  • 2021 Sam Pollard
  • 2020 Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar
  • 2019 Zeinabu Irene Davis
  • 2018 Jan Krawitz
  • 2017 Kelly Anderson
  • 2016 Gordon Quinn
  • 2015 Patricia Aufderheide
  • 2014 Alan Rosenthal
  • 2013 Michael Rabiger