Monday, 5 August



Our 73rd Conference was a smashing success! I sincerely thank Jenny Hanson and her team at Augsburg University on behalf of the entire UFVA membership for a seemingly effortlessly executed five days. Our host?s hospitality and energy were matched by the enthusiasm of our attendees.

Preliminary numbers show that 423 attendees, saw 146 films, read 49 scripts, visited 17 New Media exhibits and participated in 89 panels and workshops. Many of you commented on the excellent quality of the feedback you received on your work.

The UFVA Board plans to announce the location for next year?s conference by September 1stPlease stay tuned for more information.

During our 73rd annual membership meeting we announced our new website, produced by our Editorial VP, Dia Kontaxis. It is our hope that you will enjoy visiting it often and that you will use our UFVA resources for your teaching, research and collaboration with other members.

Also, at the membership meeting, the board proposed a new name for the association: University Cinematic and Media Arts Association. Many members have commented in the past that the rapidly changing world of our membership is not reflected in our current name. We hope you agree that our new name is forward looking, more inclusive and describes more accurately what we all collectively do.

We have also updated our Constitution and Bylaws and we will be sending them out shortly, so you can review them.You will have sixty days to vote on: (1) the name change and (2) the Constitution and Bylaws’ amendments. Details of the Bylaws’ amendments will be summarized in the ballot.Suffice it to say, there were many grammatical changes, as well as some programmatic changes pertaining to board members’ duties and our new forms of electronic communication.

Before I close, I would like to thank the board members who are rotating off: Will Akers and Karen Loop both dedicated themselves to the organization in ways too numerous to identify. We welcome the following new officers/members: Christina Lane as President-elect; Wenhwa Tsao as Conference VP; Heather Addison as Treasurer-elect; Joe Brown as returning Executive VP; Mark von Schlemmer, Suzanne Regan and Francisco Menendez as new board members. They will assist with our new initiatives, including drafting policy and procedure documents for the association and undertaking new membership initiatives.

I welcome your feedback on any and all of the above as I continue to work to provide you with the kind of association to which you are proud to belong.


Laura Vazquez

UFVA President

Useful Links
About This Email

If you wish to stop receiving email from us, you can simply remove yourself by visiting: unsubscribe link

University Film and Video Association